Bucket List: Walk Across the Prime Meridian

Being a geography student, I found walking across the prime meridian in Greenwich, London probably more exciting than the average person.

I went to Greenwich in October 2013 (sorry I’m late). We visited Greenwich Park and The Royal Observatory. Greenwich itself is definitely top 5 on my list of my favourite places in London. The buildings are beautiful, along with having great shops, restaurants and pubs. The Royal Observatory gives you a great view over the museum down below and Canary Wharf. There is also a monument outside the Observatory which was a gift from Canada (woot woot!).

DSC06264 DSC06262

Once in the Royal Observatory, you are able to go outside and see the meridian…the best bit! When I was there, there was about a 15 minute wait to stand on the line. That’s right, you have to wait in line to stand on the line, but it’s totally worth it.

DSC06268

Look at how happy I am! I am in the Western AND Easter Hemispheres. Wowza!

There is also a green laser from the main building that shines through London. You can apparently see it at night as far as 36 miles away. I always forgot to look for it though. Have you ever seen it?

DSC06270

 

You can see my entire bucket list here. 

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Instagram to keep up with my travels. I am also selling travel prints on my Etsy store

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bucket List: Walk Across the Prime Meridian

  1. I live in London and didn’t know about the Prime Meridian haha. I need to go and do this 🙂

Leave a Comment

