Things To Do (and Not Do): My Quest To a More Sustainable Life

As of right now, I do not feel I can call myself an “environmentalist”…yet. I don’t feel I am knowledgeable enough, qualified enough or even living the proper lifestyle.

I have made a short list of things I want to do/not do in the future, starting in September. Why September? September is when I return to university and live on my own instead of at my parents. It will be a heck of a lot easier then!

  1. Don’t buy anything new, especially clothing. Buy only from secondhand stores, make things, etc.
    -This I started a few weeks ago
  2. Try the 100 mile diet/eat in-season and local food
  3. Go back to veganism
  4. Stop buying from McDonald’s, Wendy’s, etc.
  5. Go gleaning
  6. Go dumpster diving! (at least once)
  7. Get more involved with local organizations
  8. Keep up to date with environmental news and blogs

There you have it! If you have any other things that you think I should give a go, leave them in the comments. I hope to keep you up to date with my progress each month or so.

Oh! I also got a Facebook page now. Like it at: www.facebook.com/greengoatstrav and as always you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram too!

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 5.40.10 PM

 

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Food, Green Living, Personal, Sustainability and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

