Pula and Rovinj, Croatia

This is the eighth, and last, entry of a series of posts from my Europe trip. Find the first one here.

After visiting Bled, Slovenia, I had the idea of going to Zadar croatia. After looking up bus/train options from Bled it was going to be way too much money and take too much time. I searched for other places along the coast of Croatia that were easy to get to but also had a reasonable flight price to get back to London. I decided to go to Pula. It would still take me over 5 hours to get there, but the flight with RyanAir was really cheap.

I booked the train from Ljubljana and it consisted of two transfers, but there was also a closure on part of the track so in the end I ended up taking two buses and three trains to get to Pula. As complicated as it sounds, it was relatively simple.

I ended up staying at Riva Hostel. It was your standard hostel. It was clean with nice staff and right on the coast. I met some quite a few people in this hostel and we decided to take a day trip to Rovinj, a small town just north of Pula and is only about an hour by bus.

It was such a cute little place with tons of character. We spent the day walking around, hanging out by the waterfront, eating and plating this weird card game.

DSC07468DSC07470

DSC07457

There is a fountain in the centre square (seen in the photo below) that the two losers of the card game were dared to hop around like kangaroos. I was one of the losers. Unfortunately, there are no pictures of me hopping.DSC07477

DSC07472The next two days I spent seeing the sights and taking the city bus to the beach.

DSC07440

DSC07442

DSC07445

Being on my own, and not really enjoying swimming anyway, I only dipped my feet in the water…it was cold. There were lots of rocks to climb on and explore on the coast which I found much more exciting than I would have found swimming.

DSC07413

DSC07409

Overall, Pula was a beautiful place. I think it would have been funner with friends (*gasp* did I just say that?). I have to say that it was my least favourite place I visited but I think it was because there wasn’t much to actually see, but more to do with friends such as swimming, eating, etc.

This wraps up my first solo trip through Europe. I would LOVE to do it again and would highly recommend it. It was definitely an amazing experience and I learned so much.

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Instagram to keep up with my travels!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Places I've Been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pula and Rovinj, Croatia

  1. Pingback: Bled, Slovenia | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

