DIY: Desktop Zen Garden

Ever since I was young I’ve wanted a zen garden for my desk. I first saw one on Runaway Bride (yeah, that 90s movie). I decided to make one as a summer project. I have never done one before, so we will have to see how long the plants last for. I am excited to put this on my desk at university and have the sand there to distract me from studying.

photo 4

These are the things I used:

  • A shallow dish (from a second-hand store)
  • Moss (I used Scotch Moss)
  • Some sort of fern-like plant (I used Just Dandy aka Chamaecyparis obtusa)
  • Stones
  • Sand

photo 1photo 3

photo 2 photo 3photo 4

I carefully planed the Just Dandy (love the name!) and the moss, and created a sloping “shoreline”. My idea was to have the sand as the water and used some rocks to create the shoreline.

photo 2

I used some waxed paper and put it between the soil and the sand so it wouldn’t get mixed together too easily.

As an added bonus, I had some kabob sticks laying around so I used those along with a hot glue gun so I can create patterns in the sand.

One concern I have is that it is not deep enough for the plants, but if that turns out to be the case I will just get a new container as that dish was only 50 cents.

Please let me know below if you have any tips or suggestions! 🙂

Don’t forget to follow me on WordPress, Twitter and on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

Also, My friend over at Passion8 Magazine (www.passion8mag.org) is giving away $115 worth of Almay makeup. Visit Passion8’s instagram (instagram.com/passion8mag) for more details on how to enter.

Screen Shot 2014-07-31 at 7.27.31 PM

 

 

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in DIY, Green Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY: Desktop Zen Garden

  1. Are you going to put this in our apartment? Cause I want yout too.

Leave a Comment

