Cemeteries – Finding Beauty in Death

You might have noticed in some of my past posts and on my Instagram that I have a weird love of cemeteries. It all started when I went to Paris and realized that cemeteries are places where life meets death and you are able to reflect in silence with few people around. They are great escapes from the big cities and make you think about who is buried in the cemetery. Were they a father, grandfather, poet, artist, doctor? What was there story? How did they die?

I believe cemeteries are highly underrated as a tourist attraction. Sure, they aren’t the Eiffel Tower or the Grand Canyon, but they are filled with stories, adventures and past that are just waiting to be discovered.

DSC07064 IMG_2540DSC07728photo 1-2 photo 5-1photo 2-1

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Personal, Places I've Been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Cemeteries – Finding Beauty in Death

  1. directorb says:

    Great post! So true, that they each hold their own story, and some cemeteries are beautiful.

  2. Forgotten NZ says:

    I fully agree. people need to let go of the stigma that cemeteries aren’t nice places to visit

  3. Forgotten NZ says:

    also I love your pics! I hope to visit a cemetery as beautiful as this

    • Laura says:

      Thank you so much! The photos are a collection of ones I have visited in the past few months. Going to see another one tomorrow if the weather is nice. 🙂

  4. I went to Boston, MA and walked the Freedom Trail, and they have several cemeteries there. It was crazy to see how young many people were when they died. It made me appreciate living as long as I have (not long), and inspires me to make the most out of whatever time I have.

    • Laura says:

      Oh wow! That’s so cool. I was in Boston a few years ago but it was before I was interested in cemeteries. Boston is probably one of my favourite cities so I will be going back at some point and will definitely have to check out the Freedom Trail. 🙂

  5. Mozart D. L. says:

    That’s nice! When staying in Edinburgh I saw many beautiful cemeteries! It was like seeing the history of that city by its population, historical memories… Many of then where around a main church. Well, I think they were all famous cemeteries, but it was nice anyway. Anyway I must confess that I still have some fear or don’t feel totally okay when I’m in a cemetery. Well, Edinburgh cemeteries didn’t evoked these negative feelings though Eheh (maybe because I was travelling hehe)

    • Mozart D. L. says:

      Oh yes. And it is also interesting to see stylistic differences between tombs, graves. It is interesting how people think of the places where their rests will lie, curious idea…

  6. Pingback: Road Trip Adventure: Baltimore to Toronto Part 3 | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

