Self Discovery – Reflecting on “The Great Discovery” of 2009

This post doesn’t really have anything to do with travel or green living, but hey, it’s my blog…deal with it. 🙂

For the past couple of weeks, I have been doing a huge clear out in my room at my parents house. I found two pages with the title “The Great Discovery”, dated February 6th, 2009. On it there are 10 questions that I answer about my life. I was reading it and it is crazy how much my thinking and answers have changed in the past 5 years.

To give you some perspective, in 2009 I was:

  • In grade 11
  • Thinking about which university programs I wanted to apply to
  • Scared to leave home
  • Never travel more than a couple hours from my house…always with my parents
  • Very few of my friends inspired me
  • “A good Christian”…take this how you will
  • Wanting to be rich and successful in business/accounting, preferably a CEO
  • Idols were Donald Trump and Robert Herjavec (Canadian Businessman)

Now, in 2014:

  • In my final year of university after taking a gap year to travel
  • Thinking about what I want to do after graduation
  • Bored at home, need adventures!
  • Have traveled to 13 countries in the past year
  • Have met so many people around the world, and connected more than ever with some at home, who inspire me to do amazing things that I am passionate about
  • Have become Agnostic and made my own choices in life, for example became a vegetarian, etc.
  • Want to be successful in happiness, experiences and living; preferably start a charity/social enterprise in the future
  • Idols are a few previous co-workers, a couple friends, a travel vlogger and a general vlogger

I will save you from reading all of the questions and answers from 2009, but here are a few that stood out, along with my answers now.

What are you doing in 20 years? (I was 16 in 2009, so when I am 36)

2009:

  • Have a job as an accountant and am fairly successful, but have time for family.
 2014:

  • Working for a non-profit organisation, with a focus on wildlife, conservation, or healthy and sustainable eating.
  • OR Have my own not-for-profit/social enterprise/smallholding

If you could spend one day in a library studying anything you wanted, what would you study?

2009:

  • Business/finance
 2014:

  • Sustainable living

List 10 things you love to do:

2009:

  1. Playing the piano
  2. Reading
  3. On the computer
  4. Relaxing
  5. Watching TV
  6. Listening to music
  7. Playing Wii
  8. Playing with pets
  9. Learning something new
  10. Crafts
2014:

  1. Listening to music
  2. On the computer
  3. Traveling
  4. Exploring outside
  5. Going to concerts/events
  6. Writing for my blog/social media
  7. Reading/learning about interests
  8. Making things/crafts
  9. Watching TV/YouTube
  10. Hanging out with friends

If you could spend an hour with any person whoever lived, who would that be? Why that person? What would you ask?

2009:

  • Donald Trump
  • Why? Rich, successful, business person, intelligent, risk taker
  • I would ask for tips and other advice
2014:

  • I have no idea how to answer this question now. There are so many people running through my mind. I think it would depend on if it was career focused or not.
  • If not, I would have to chose between: Lucille Ball, Joyce DeWitt and John Ritter.
  • If it was career focused, then I would have to choose between: a few Environmentalists (ie. Julia Hill), Connor Manning (Vlogger) and Louis Cole (Vlogger).

It is so interesting to see how much my thinking and interests have changed in the past 5 years. I am so glad I don’t have my sights set on being a CEO of some evil corporation anymore. I don’t think I would have survived in the corporate world anyway!

Let me know if you have realized any major changed in your life/thinking lately in the comments. I would love to read about them!

Don’t forget to follow me on WordPress, Twitter and Instagram to keep up with my travels!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Personal, Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

