Ljubljana, Slovenia

This is the sixth entry of a series of posts from my Europe trip. Find the first one here.

Taking the train from Zagreb to Ljubljana while still being ill wasn’t the funnest part of the trip, but I was feeling much better thankfully. I sleepily made it to the place I was looking forward to the most, Slovenia. Many people have not even heard of this tiny, beautiful country. The capital city only has a population of just under 275,000, compared to London’s population of 10 million.

I first heard of Slovenia when I was watching the opening ceremonies of the Vancouver Olympics and they introduced the country. I had never even heard of it and decided to Google it. It was beautiful! From then on, it has always been one of the top places I wanted to visit.

If you have read my article Four Goals When Traveling Solo, you’ll know that one of my goals for this trip was to go on a guided or self-guided tour. I decided to go on the FREE walking tour of Ljubljana and it was really awesome. They guide knew lots of things and told funny stories about the city along the way. She talked a lot about this one architect, Jože Plečnick, who designed many of the buildings and bridges in the city.

DSC07272 DSC07274 DSC07261

Many of them were Roman inspired with big columns. The university library, I thought, was especially unique because it was designed to look like it was woven.

DSC07257

The tour guide also explained that on the door of one of the churches, the story of slovenia is engraved in it. She explained it all to the group, but the only thing I can remember is the Pope is looking out a window near the top.

DSC07269

One of the most noticeable things in the city is the huge pink church in the centre square.

DSC07305.jpg

I also went up to the castle which gave a stunning view of the city and the mountains.

DSC07287I think it is safe to say that I am in love with this city. I would definitely consider living there in the future for a short time or at least visiting again. I stayed in Hostel Tresor which was nice and clean but different to the other hostels I have stayed in. It is very unsocial. If you are looking to make friends and talk to other, stay somewhere else. Usually if a hostel has a bar, it’s a good sign.

DSC07254

DSC07271

Can I go back yet?

Don’t forget to follow me on WordPress, Twitter and on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

Click here for the next stop on my trip!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Places I've Been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ljubljana, Slovenia

  1. Pingback: Zagreb, Croatia | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

