Building a Tiny Vermicomposter: First Attempt

I have recently returned home to Canada after working on a city farm for the past year in London, UK. It inspired me to try and build a vermicomposter for my house. After reading a few articles on the Internet, I realized it didn’t sound as easy as I thought it was going to be. SInce I am hoping to take it to university to keep on my balcony, I got three small bins at the dollar store to make it out of. They are about 30cm by 55 cm. All of the tutorials I read/watched online used large bins but I really would like a small vermicomposter, so I am going to see if it will work!

photo 2

I drilled holes in the bottom of two of the bins which will be used to put food scraps in and the other will be the bottom to catch the “worm tea”.

photo 3

The next step is to get the worms! I found a local lady who sells Red Wiggler worms which are suppose o be great for composting but she said there is a shortage and she won’t have any for two month. So disappointing! I have been looking for other places but shipping costs a fortune, so I will have to keep looking. 😦

If any one has any tips or idea on where to get worms in Canada, feel free to say so in the comments.

Don’t forget to follow me on WordPress, Twitter and on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Green Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Building a Tiny Vermicomposter: First Attempt

  1. What about fish and bait stores? Would the type of worms fishermen use work?

Leave a Comment

