Budapest, Hungary

This is the fourth entry of a series of posts from my Europe trip. Find the first one here.

Oh, Budapest.

DSC07151

It was definitely one of the more interesting stops on my trip. I met an American in Vienna and just happened we were planning on going to Budapest on the same day. Because I didn’t have anything booked, I decided to stay at the same hostel as him to make things simple. He was staying at Retox Hostel. It ended up being one of the most memorable palaces I went to.


IMG_2720

The first day out in the real world was filled with seeing the sights such as the Buda Castle. There is a market with dancing, traditional food, gifts and archery. Inspired by Daryl Dixon, I decided to shoot a cross bow.

DSC07141 DSC07160

DSC07154

There is also Gellért Hill located beside the castle with walking trails leading up to the top. It was a trek and a half but definitely worth it for the view. On my way up, it started to pour down rain but thankfully I found a tree that covered me from most of it.

DSC07176 DSC07173 DSC07178
 The second day I went caving with a friend. It was the first time I had ever gone and it was like nothing I had done before. I knew it was going to be squishy but I didn’t realize how tight some of the passages would be. The guide tells you to go through tight spots in certain positions or else you get stuck!

Here is an awful photo of me in my caving gear:

IMG_2724

If you like nightlife mixed with history, Budapest is definitely the place to go. I would highly recommend Retox or any of their sister hostels as well!

Don’t forget to follow me on WordPress and on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

Click here for the next stop on my trip!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Places I've Been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Budapest, Hungary

  1. Pingback: Baden, Austria | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

