Baden, Austria

This is the third entry of a series of posts from my Europe trip. Find the first one here.

On my third day in Vienna, I took a day trip to the small town of Baden, Austria. It was where Beethoven spent much of his time and I believe he lived there for a short time as well. 

DSC07115

After getting off of the tram, I looked for any sort of map or sign that would point me in the way of the Beethoven Museum. I ended up stumbling upon the Tourist Information Centre. The Tourist Information Centre consisted of a lady at a dest and a few leaflets. On the map, I noticed that the natural swimming pools are a big deal in the town and Beethoven is not. I think the Puppet Museum got a larger advertisement then the Beethoven Museum…and I soon found out why.

Turned out that the Beethoven Museum was closed for reservations and all I could see was the outside of the house. 

DSC07084

On the huge hill next to the town, there was a Beethoven Memorial. Yay! Baden wasn’t a complete waste of time.

DSC07086 DSC07092

DSC07095

The memorial was about halfway up the full height of the hill so I continued to the top because I love getting views over the cities I visit.

DSC07101

After stopping at a little cafe for lunch owned by a cute little old lady who didn’t speak much English, it was time to head back to the hostel in Vienna.

Note to self: check to see if things are closed for renovations before traveling.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

Click here for the next stop on my trip!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Places I've Been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baden, Austria

  1. Pingback: Vienna, Austria | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

