Vienna, Austria

This is the second entry of a series of posts from my Europe trip. Find the first one here.

I made my way from my hostel in Bratislava to the train station and bought a ticket for the next train to Vienna.

Vienna has been a place I have wanted to visit since I did a speech on Beethoven in grade 5 when my obsession for pianists/composers began (this obsession ended a few years ago but it is still in the back of my mind).

I had nothing booked for this trip so after getting off at a stopped that looked somewhat like a city with a sign that said “Wien”, I found a booklet with some hostels listed. I ended up staying at a place called Wombats Backpackers’ Hostel for three nights. It was a very modern hostel with fancy electronic lockers, a bar and a well-equipped kitchen.

DSC06995

My first day was filled with just wandering around and seeing what there was to do. My first stop was St. Stephan’s Cathedral. Inside was magnificent. It reminded me of when I visited the Cologne Cathedral, but not as massive, which I liked.

DSC07001 DSC07011 DSC07015

That evening, I thought it would be a good idea to go to the opera. Wrong! It was probably the most painful half hour of my life. Don’t get me wrong, I can see how the opera can be enjoyable for some, but it’s just not my cup of tea. It also didn’t help that no one knew about the little translators on the railing.

If you do plan on going to the opera and are on a tight budget, I suggest going a couple hours early to wait in line for standing tickets. Standing tickets were 3-4 Euros each.

The next day I made my way out of the city centre to Schönbrunn Palace. I got a ticket that allowed me to have a audio tour of 40 palace rooms and visit the gardens and a building at the back of the gardens.

DSC07030 DSC07034 DSC07043

Sadly, I only made it to two cemeteries on this trip both being in Vienna. First I went to a nice little cemetery that had Mozart’s grave

DSC07066 DSC07068

The second one was quite close by and is also the largest cemetery in Europe. It holds Beethoven’s and Brahms’ graves as well as a few other well known composers. There is also a memorial for Mozart that I assume people mistake for his grave. When I got to the centre of this cemetery it started to pour down rain so I wasn’t able to get great photos sadly. The chapel that was in this one was massive. It was probably two to three times the size I have seen in other ones.

DSC07077

Sorry for the wonkiness

DSC07074

After going back to the hostel and drying off, I decided to call it a day. The next day I went on a day trip to a little town called Baden, which will be blog number three. My last day before getting the bus to Budapest was filled with wandering around and seeing everything that I missed. This included the river where I found some cool street art.

DSC07118

DSC07120 DSC07121

Vienna is a lovely city that has a lot to offer. I’m not really an artsy person so I didn’t visit any of the museums but I did enjoy the parks and markets. Look out for part three which will cover the day trip to Baden, Austria where I climbed a massive hill.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

Click here for the next stop on my trip!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Places I've Been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vienna, Austria

  1. Pingback: Bratislava, Slovakia | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

