Leaving London

Something that has been on my mind a lot recently is moving back home to Canada from London. I have only been in London for a year but it has been the best year of my life so far. I have done so many new things and met tons of lovely people. My flight is booked for 2nd July.

I have mixed feelings about going back. I have to go back to university in September which I am looking forward to…except for the classes and exams). I am looking forward to seeing my family, friends, cats and my fish, Stanley as well as doing a few things I have planned such as going to Jamestown, NY to see the Lucille Ball-Desi Arnaz Museum and going to see my friend in Sault Ste. Marie.

Lately it is starting to sink in that I am leaving. I have this awful feeling in the pit of my stomach that doesn’t go away. I think my biggest worry about leaving London is that if when I return, everyone I met here will have left and be in a different stage of their life. It’s really hard to be excited to go home when I’m talking to my parents and family. I think it’s difficult for them to understand how much the place where I volunteer/work and London itself has affected my life and my confidence. To just drop it all in one 7 hour flight home is a really scary thought.

I found a really interesting video on goodbyes by a Youtuber name Connor Manning. His videos are usually quite relatable, but this one is perfect for my life right now. He says, “I like to look at it not necessarily as a goodbye…but as a ‘let’s see the next chapter'”. He also says to look forward to the “future hello” and it “stops becoming a goodbye and it becomes an ‘I can’t wait to see you again'”. I am hoping to return to London after graduation. For how long, I don’t know. It will depend on finances, visas and general life, but until then, I will definitely be missing London and the people in it (other than the evil people on public transit).

It’s been a blast, London. I’m going to miss you, but you haven’t seen the last of me!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

