Bratislava, Slovakia

For years now, it has been a dream of mine to backpack Europe. This May, I had the opportunity to travel for three weeks around Central/Eastern Europe. I visited 9 cities and 5 countries: Bratislava, Slovakia; Vienna and Baden, Austria; Budapest, Hungary; Zagreb, Pula and Rovinj, Croatia; and Ljubljana and Bled, Slovenia. 

This is the first of a series of posts from my Europe trip.

Bratislava was one place I never thought I would travel to. I had hardly heard of it, nevermind think of going there. While researching my trip, I discovered it would be the perfect place to fly to from London to get to Eastern Europe as it’s a cheap flight and very close to Vienna (1 hour by train).

When I arrived in Bratislava one of the first things I noticed was the amount of graffiti on the buildings. It’s is everywhere! I can definitely appreciate some nice street art (as you will read in my upcoming Zagreb post), but Bratislava is just filled with awful scribbles everywhere.

The first half day I was there consisted of wandering around and eating…very exciting.

20140603-214309.jpg20140603-214607.jpg

The next day, I wandered to the river and up this huge pathway of stairs to the Bratislava Castle. I was so exhausted by the time I got there; I think I took the long way there. It was definitely worth it as the Castle and the view were both stunning.

20140603-214552.jpg20140603-214414.jpg 20140603-214348.jpg20140603-214322.jpgI stayed in Bratislava for two nights which was plenty of time to see the city. On the last day, before I caught the train to Vienna, I actually ran out of things to do and places to go.

Bratislava is definitely worth a visit, but I would recommend doing a day trip from Vienna or only staying one or two nights as there is little to do.

Up next will be my post for Vienna! One of my favourite European cities I have visited.

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

Click here for the next stop on my trip!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Places I've Been, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Bratislava, Slovakia

  1. Pingback: Vienna, Austria | Green Goats Travel

  2. Pingback: Baden, Austria | Green Goats Travel

  3. Pingback: Budapest, Hungary | Green Goats Travel

  4. Pingback: Zagreb, Croatia | Green Goats Travel

  5. Pingback: Ljubljana, Slovenia | Green Goats Travel

  6. Pingback: Bled, Slovenia | Green Goats Travel

  7. Pingback: Pula and Rovinj, Croatia | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

