Paris, France

In February, I took a long weekend and went to Paris and Cologne. I spent two days in each city which was enough time in Cologne, but I could have spent longer in Paris as there is so much to do.

20140517-210149.jpg

The first thing I did, after checking into the hostel, was took a walk to the Eiffel Tower. I didn’t go up as I was too lazy to walk and too cheap to pay €15 for the lift. After being up the CN Tower in Toronto multiple times, the hight of the Eiffel Tower did not even compare.

20140517-210156.jpg

On the walk towards the Louvre, I saw some notable buildings, such as the Grande and Petit Palaces, and a really awesome bridge.

Once at the Louvre, I spent some time looking around outside at the fountains and monuments. I didn’t spend much time in the Louvre because museums aren’t really my thing. I saw the popular painting and sculptures and then made my way to the Notre Dame, stopping to get a crepe on the way.

20140517-210203.jpg

20140517-210210.jpg

20140517-210217.jpg

20140517-210227.jpg

20140517-210237.jpg

The next day, I visited Père Lachaise Cemetery. I must admit, I kind of have a thing for cemeteries. They are peaceful, beautiful and a great escape from the city. Many famous people are buried in Père Lachaise Cemetery, mostly French people who I have not heard of. When you enter the cemetery there is a map with a legend of all the graves and names listed. Out of the hundreds of people the ones I recognized and visited were: Chopin, Jim Morrison, Oscar Wilde and Édith Piaf.

20140517-210253.jpg

20140517-211446.jpg

The visit to the cemetery ended my short, but lovely visit to Paris. I will definitely be back!

Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram to keep up with my travels!

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment

