The Importance of Looking Behind You When Traveling

Please try and bare with me, this isn’t a safety lecture.

My Dad has always told me to look behind me when walking by myself, especially at night, for safety reason (ie to make sure no one is following you, etc.). I try and follow this advice whenever I am walking alone and have came to discover something while traveling.

I have done more traveling in the past year, then I have done in the 20 years before that combined. I especially use my dad’s advice now I am visiting new cities. One thing I have noticed is, not only should you look behind you for safety reasons, but also because you could miss amazing things. You get different angles of buildings you have just walked past, new views of the mountains, or, sometimes, even see something completely new.

I have had so many experiences with this it’s difficult to choose one example. One of the most recent examples was probably in Paris. I had just seen the Eiffel Tower and was walking by it towards the other end of the park. I looked behind me and saw this:

20140505-205315.jpg

If I hadn’t looked behind me, not only would I never have gotten the photo, I would have never seen the Eiffel Tower in all it’s glory.

(Sorry for the cheesiness)

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Importance of Looking Behind You When Traveling

  1. It’s gorgeous! When I was there several years ago I too looked behind me, but didn’t get these marvelous colors. I was there in Winter. I need to go in when the sun shines more obviously. πŸ™‚
    Be safe!

    • greengoatstravel says:

      I was super lucky because I was there in February and it was about 16-18 degrees! You should definitely go back in the summer; I’m sure it’s lovely!

Leave a Comment

