4 Goals When Traveling Solo

In less than two weeks, I am leaving on a trip through Croatia, Slovenia, Austria and Hungary…alone. Travelling alone is something that isn’t new to me. I’ve travelled to Paris, Cologne, Bergen and various places in London alone. Heck, I’ve even moved to London alone, knowing no one and never being out out North America.

The big difference this time is that it is for three weeks. Usually, my trips are around 4 days, so this will be definitely a new experience.

DSC05958

I’m not really a goal setter. In school they would tell us that you have to set and write down goals to be successful. I understand this might be a “proven fact” in some cases, but I don’t like setting goals. I usually just go with the flow. I do have a Bucket List (you can find it on the “My Bucket List” tab), but I feel this is different than traditional goal setting.
photo 1-4

I’m not going to go into a big discussion on goal setting because that is dull, to say the least. For the first time in my adult life, I am going to make and write down four goals for my “Three Week Adventure”. *Gasp*

Hold onto your hats. Here we go.

  1. Talk to at least one friendly looking person in each hostel: This one is a big one for me. I am not the most social person ever. I am quiet and a bit awkward, especially when talking to strangers. I met one girl in a hostel in Bergen, Norway. It was awesome to see the sights with her and I really want to experience this again.
  2. Say “yes”: Obviously this doesn’t apply to a situation that could put me in danger, such as a random Croatian man asking if I want to come into his van. If there are opportunities to do things at the hostel or at tourist attractions, DO THEM! Don’t make up excuses. Don’t be scared.
  3. Go on a guided or self-guided hike/walk: This is really just a personal goal. I have never been on a guided or even self guided walk and I think Slovenia or Croatia would be the perfect opportunity.
  4. Don’t be afraid to eat in a proper restaurant alone: This is something I have avoided in the past. I usually get take away, make my own food, or get something I can eat on the go. I want to get over the ‘weirdness’ or ‘awkwardness’ of eating alone. Maybe bring a book or a magazine to avoid looking too lonely.

There we go! I have set goals. I will write a post at the end of my trip about my experiences while trying to achieve them.

Have you ever travelled solo? Do you have any tips for me and others who are thinking of travelling alone?

20130822-214100.jpg

About Laura

I am a young Canadian with a passion for travel and green living. I also have an unhealthy addiction to Netflix and coffee. Follow along on my travels and my journey to more sustainable living!
This entry was posted in Random Thoughts, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 4 Goals When Traveling Solo

  1. I’ve always wanted to travel solo! This blog will be really helpful not just for me but to everyone. Enjoy and have fun! 🙂

    • greengoats says:

      You totally should do it! It doesn’t even have to be abroad. Just going on a day trip alone is super exciting! You learn so much. Thanks for the lovely comment. 🙂

  2. Louise says:

    I wish I had the guts to travel alone! Eating in restaurants alone is great though, with a book or just people-watching. Enjoy your travels!

  3. Once you eat alone once you will wonder why you were so nervous to do it in the first place. Order some wine & people watch! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Reflecting On My Travel Goals | Green Goats Travel

  5. Mira says:

    Make the most of your youth hostel stays, as you say. I’ve met all sorts of people. It made for powerful memories and also broadened my horizons a whole lot :-). Loved it.

  6. Pingback: Ljubljana, Slovenia | Green Goats Travel

Leave a Comment

